Thank You, Evansville, for a Successful 2018 Strawberry Festival

The Evansville community showed up in full force to support the school district at this year’s Annual Strawberry Festival. In fact, we sold out of strawberry shortcake! All proceeds go to the EEF’s support of our schools.

Special thanks to John and Barb Willoughby and to Bill Kasten for organizing the event and to the many volunteers who made it possible. Thank you to Larsen Acres and Tipi Produce for sponsoring the most delicious event of the summer!

Congratulations to Our 2018-2019 Grant Recipients

On August 28th, the EEF presented over $6,000 in grants to Evansville teachers at the annual Back-to-School breakfast. From robotics to music, and from flexible seating to mindfulness training, teachers impressed the Grants committee with their innovation and commitment to improving opportunities for all students. Award winners include:

Wish List Grants

  • Levi Leonard:
    • Jennifer Johnson and Tamara Wallisch: Boogie board tablets
  • TRIS:
    • Kari Reuter and Kendra Statton: iPad for reading support
    • Connie Schultz: “Hold Back the Water” STEM activity
  • JC McKenna:
    • Dave Kopf: Robotics and engineering supplies
    • Beth Oswald and Kelli Ours: Mindfulness training
    • Brittany Shotliff: Supplies for functional skills program
  • EHS:
    • Amanda Leahy: Music composition commission
    • Christine Schullo: Robots for computer programming

Academic Club Grants

  • Levi Leonard:
    • Deb Fritz: Diverse books for Wednesday Morning Club
  • EHS:
    • Amanda Leahy: Music for Jazz Clubs
    • Dana Teske: Global Education Project
    • Melissa Bonow: Brain Power Project for Advanced Learners

Excellence in Education Endowment Fund Grants

  • JC McKenna:
    • Abby Beyerl: Flexible seating
  • EHS:
    • Abby Beyerl: Makerspace supplies